Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

leave no doubtLEAVE NO DOUBT

Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.” James Dean

I was recently in a leadership class when the instructor started naming heroic figures in history…”Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr., John Lennon, Abraham Lincoln….all of them stood for something, and all were shot.” He paused for reflection and then continued. “Do you know what the problem is with your lives?”

The question lingered in the classroom as all one hundred of us pondered the inquiry.

“The problem is none of your lives are worth a bullet.” He stated bluntly.

Two weeks later and I cannot get this thought out of my mind as I know he is right. My life isn’t worth a bullet. Hours, days, weeks and years pass and I breathe and the time passes but what truly do I stand for?

Our lives are a blip. We are a ship passing in the night carrying this luggage around our true boundless energy. This lifetime, this existence is a whisper, passing like a shadow that can fade at any moment, yet this body allows an expression of our energy, a footprint in the sand, one voice to say “I AM!”, one voice that echoes to all that says “we are one”.

Day after day, month after month, year after year roll by; we fill our time with meaningless pursuits, no expression, nothing to merit the mention of a bullet. What truly do we stand for in this lifetime?

I recently competed in the Master/Senior World Championships in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. It didn’t matter to me if I won or lost, this was not important. What mattered to me was my expression, was my effort, I wanted to walk off the mat LEAVING NO DOUBT. I wanted my opponent to look across after the match and say “that guy was committed, that guy had passion, that guy was here.”

This is the same expression I want in life from every person I come across, every person I touch, every person who even whispers my name I want them to say “that guy was here, that guy had passion, that guy moved me.”

Leo Tolstoy said “everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.”

Change starts within. It starts with the question what do I stand for? What am I committed to? What expression is worth this lifetime, worth a bullet?

Gandhi said “be the change you want to see in the world.”

Life is like ringing a bell if you strike lightly you get a faint sound, if you strike with passion, with full expression then the bell will ring, the universe will speak, your expression will be heard.

LEAVE NO DOUBT ….all we have is this moment right now, you are the one to make a difference.

Call to Action:

  • Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.
  • Stand for something in this life. Cherish this opportunity, seize the day. Do not regret this life, do not wait until it is your final moment.
  • “Be the change you want to see in this world”
  • LEAVE NO DOUBT- every moment, every person you come across is an opportunity to leave an expression of yourself…Leave no doubt.
  • BE LOVE

Thomas D. Craig

Author of A Cup of Buddha

seeker. adventurer. warrior

