Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Native American Prayer

Oh, Great Spirit Whose voice I hear in the winds, And whose breath gives life to all the world, hear me, I am small and weak, I need your strength and wisdom. Let me walk in beauty and make my eyes ever behold the red and purple sunset. Make my hands respect the things you have made and my ears sharp to hear your voice. Make me wise so that I may understand the things you have taught my people. Let me learn the lessons you have hidden in every leaf and rock.   I seek strength, not to be greater than my brother, but to fight my greatest enemy – myself. Make me always ready to come to you with clean hands and straight eyes. So when life fades, as the fading sunset, my Spirit may come to you without shame.

Lakota Sioux Chief Yellow Lark-1887
“So when life fades, as the fading sunset, my Spirit may come to you without shame.”  Wow….is there a better context for life than this?  Full of gratitude, love and humbleness.  The connection to all living beings is evident.  The true appreciation in every moment is clear.  Chief Yellow Lark understands his barrier to this harmony with the Great Spirit, this foundation of love is HIMSELF.  “I seek strength not to be greater than my brother but to fight my greatest enemy – myself.”
This is it.  Here lies the key to our path of peace, to our path of love – the strength to fight ourselves.  To get our minds out-of-the-way and live from the heart.  Our minds keep us in this material world filled with anger, vanity, greed, and lust.   We are not free until we remove this ‘I’ in our context of the world.  When we realize that we are connected to all living beings and that our world is impermanent we free ourselves from the suffering that our minds create as an isolated being.

Come with clean hands to your death.  Death can happen at any moment, there is not some day, there is only now.  All thoughts and actions are relevant.  We are these thoughts and actions, and these create our world.  If we are happy then our world becomes happy.  Our way of being is a mirror to our lives.

Live in gratitude.  Live in connection to all living beings.  Live in love.
Call to Action:
      • Wake each day with a thought and words of gratitude for your life.  Throughout the day search for gratitude, speak these words out loud to those around you. Create a world of gratitude.
      • See and feel the blessings that surround you.
      • Get present to the change you are looking for is within yourself.  There is no where else to look.  Find the strength to look within and transform your being.  All other pursuits for transformation and change are fruitless.

Thomas D. Craig

Author A Cup of Buddha

Writer.Seeker.Adventurer.Warrior

