Tags

, , , , , , ,

…those who know how to be perfectly still are able to govern the world.

-Lao-Tzu from Red Pine’s translation of the Tao Te Ching

I have been fortunate enough to meet and spend some time with Bill Porter who translates under Red Pine.  He is an amazing individual with incredible depth, and similar to me a big Seattle Mariners fan as he lives nearby in Port Townsend, WA.

My favorite book bar none is the Tao Te Ching.  Everytime I read it I find something new, layers of depth that all relate to my life.  I have read and used many translations of the text and I am now in awe of Red Pine’s version as his research seems unparalleled.

My mind right now is on stillness which brought me to verse 45 in his text:

 Perfectly complete it seems deficient

Yet it never wears out

Perfectly full it seems empty

Yet it never runs dry

Perfectly straight it seems crooked

Perfectly clever it seems clumsy

Perfectly abundant it seems impoverished

Active it overcomes cold

Still it overcomes heat

Those who know how to be perfectly still

Are able to govern the world

-TaoTeChing- Lao Tzu translation by Red Pine

Call to Action:

  • Where are you NOT still in your life?  Your breath?  Your mind?  Your patience?  Stillness is peace, seek out all these areas where you are not still and find peace.
